Last Updated:
Monday, March 7, 2011

About Us

Band Alumni Completes Funding of McKay Fellowship

A major accomplishment in the history of the UofM Band Alumni Chapter was celebrated at the January 26, 2006 basketball game between the #3 Tigers and UAB. During a halftime ceremony, Band Alumni Chapter Vice President Jeremy Stinson presented the University of Memphis Foundation with a $35,000 check, officially establishing the Dr. Sidney J. McKay Fellowship for graduate studies in instrumental music education. Representing the University at this ceremony were: Dr. Shirley Raines, President of The University of Memphis; Dr. Richard Ranta, Dean of the

College of Communication and Fine Arts: Dr. Patricia Hoy, Director of the Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music; and Dr. Kraig Williams, Director of Bands. Dr. McKay was also on hand to be honored by the crowd of 15,529 in attendance at FedExForum.

In 2001, the University of Memphis Band Alumni Chapter joined the Greenville, MS High School Band Alumni to create the Dr. Sidney J. McKay Graduate Fellowship at the University of Memphis. Both organizations wanted to find a unique and lasting way to honor Dr. McKay for his outstanding work as director of both the Greenville High School Band and, from 1975 until his retirement in 2003, the University of Memphis Band. Through this fellowship, we hope to train future generations of band directors who will follow in Dr. McKay's footsteps.

Dozens of U of M and Greenville HS alumni have made personal contribtuions to the fellowship fund. Additionally, most of the proceeds from the 2002-2005 Bandmasters Championship marching contests and Mid-South Indoor Percussion & Color Guard Competitions were deposited into the University of Memphis Foundation towards the endowment. Thank you to everyone who has contributed time and money to the fellowship during the past five years.

The McKay Fellowship will be awarded to deserving individuals pursuing a Master's or Doctoral degree at the U of M in the field of instrumental music education. Recipients must have achieved high standards of excellence in music, academics and leadership during their undergraduate program, and will be expected to continue these standards while they are a "Dr. Sidney McKay Fellow" at the U of M. The first Fellowship award is expected to be made in 2007.

If you have questions about the Dr. Sidney McKay Fellowship, please feel free to .


The UofM Band Alumni Chapter officially presented the $35,000 Dr. Sidney McKay Fellowship at halftime of the Tigers-UAB baskeball game on January 26, 2006. On hand were (l-r) Dean Richard Ranta, Dr. Shirley Raines, Dr. Sidney McKay, Jeremy Stinson, Dr. Patricia Hoy, and Dr. Kraig Williams.

Copyright 2009, The University of Memphis Band Alumni Chapter